Here we go again. Forgetting that the Lesbian, Gay, Bisexual, Transgender and Queer Community Is Very Much A Part of The Struggle and the Fight Against Such Nonsense.

Posted: November 27, 2016 in Call to Action, for your reflection, Real Food For Thought, Solidarity, We fight on

You know we have always respected Al Marder and our friends at the Communist Party USA New Haven so it saddens me to receive this letter from the US Peace Council. I have worked with them over the years, gone to their events and participated in many a demo and rally with them. I sent them a letter, hope they get it asking if my community the Lesbian, Gay, Bisexual, Transgender and Queer community couldn’t or can’t be a part of their united front. Some how for some reason they forgot us. I learned many years ago from one of my mentors that we must never allow anyone to omit, deny, suppress, erase us that we must stand up and try like hell to educate them and damn well correct them. Now I am not saying that we have to build bridges to the political and religious right or to Trump and his fellow travelers but now I am wondering how about folks in groups like the US Peace Council? How about folks in the many other groups? Will they remain silent when we are attacked? Will they repeat history? Do they know us? Do they care about us?

Build a bridge some would say, what they really need is a slap upside their heads. They know full well that we in our community are targets of the right and targets of the new regime that is taking over in January. Whats their fucking problem? They know about our fight for our rights over the years but still they come up with this type of call out. Don’t we struggle for Peace and Justice? I know that I have struggled since 1965 when I attended my first anti-war demonstration. These folks complain about the the distortions of the ruling class but then distort themselves. Maria who also received this letter told me, “I guess we just have to be bigger.” When they call a demo, rally, or picket go with all of our queer glory, flying the rainbow flag, bring our queer signs and make damn sure that Mr. Marder and folks at the US Peace Council know we are not going anywhere. Remind them that we are indeed here, there and everywhere our community is very much a part of all communities. Remind them that we are very much a part of this attempt to bring down this malevolent regime of Trump and his fellow travelers and the whole damn system with them.  Dust your self off folks, please dust yourself off, your queerphobia is showing and you have slipped up with this one.

Letter from US Peace Council President Alfred Marder

Comments
  1. Sam says:

    The Communist Party USA was never our friends. In fact they threw Harry Hay and other homosexuals out of the party. But you know who cares they are nothing more than the liberal left wing of the democrats now and will only give lip service to LGBTQ rights and liberation. They still just don’t get it. I agree let’s be on our guard and support our friends and allies fuck the rest. Yes we are all in this together but if they do not give us the respect then I am not going to beg.