The Dark Side of Ex-Gay Torture. Ban Conversion Therapy! Straights leave us alone!

Posted: March 5, 2017 in Call to Action, for your reflection

Many thanks to Joe.My.God for publishing this. As folks in Connecticut join together to ban Conversion Therapy this is an excellent video to watch and read this from Joe.

Seeker reports:

“Gay conversion therapy aims to turn gay, lesbian or transgender individuals into heterosexuals. Patients are predominantly minors or young adults and many are forced or pressured into it. Just this month, the tiny island of Malta became the first European nation to outlaw gay conversion therapy. Evidence increasingly shows that it can cause serious medical and psychological harm, but it still occurs here in the U.S. and around the world. What exactly is gay conversion therapy and how did it get put into practice? Watch today’s Seeker Daily video to find out.”

Many Thanks to Tony Nada for posting this article on facebook.

When I was much younger around 56 years ago I had been convinced that since I was gay and acted fem, that I should go to see a physiatrist. I was 14 at the time and had no say in the matter. Not only that I was a “weird” kid who liked to make art and no one in my family ever made art before so there were two strikes against me. So I went on the advice of our family doctor to a wonderful women who ran group therapies. She had left Germany when the Nazis came to power. Little did my parents or the doctor know that she felt that nothing was wrong with homosexuals and encouraged me in my art. I loved it. I remember her to this day. I had a great time visiting with her and also met a man who I began having sex with. Yes a man, a older man, did I feel used? Not at all. Did I feel like he was taking advantage of me as a older man prying on a younger boy. Not at all.  He was the only one who really gave me love and I felt good and I felt like it was okay. No I didn’t need conversion. I didn’t need to be converted to the straight life style, for I had one of my own. I got lucky. So many of our people aren’t as lucky.

Of course remember that very few people were out at that time, and none in a small town. Boys fooled around but that was that. I knew of no one who was gay but had heard rumors about a few men. Tony the man I met came over from Middletown and we snucked around meeting up when we could. A few years later I left home.

For more information on Conversion Thearpy see: The Lies and Dangers of Efforts to Change Sexual Orientation or Gender Identity  

Also be sure to read: A Survivor of Gay Conversion Therapy Shares His Chilling Story.

 

Comments are closed.